Home > Uncategorized > The future of newspapers

The future of newspapers

A newspaper recently closed up shop in Texas. It was a weekly completely void of an internet presence. Not only was it not web-published, there was not even a registered domain name.

Hard to believe in 2013 there would be newspapers that seem to think it’s 1973.

As I look at newspapers now, I see how many of them have elaborate websites. It makes me think of the future. How long will it be before print newspapers are gone?

Newsweek, at the end of 2012, ceased print publication and is online only. I suspect that will continue. There are also fiction magazines and non-fiction magazines that are online only.

My parents are in their seventies and, last time I checked, prefer print newspapers. But when they pass on, and when those who are addicted to their cell phones and the endless applications are old, where will the demand be for print news?

Hard to say.

I’m 40, and I believe that when I’m 70 there will be very few newspapers that still have print versions.

Post comments here or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

