Home > Uncategorized > Took a yoga class tonight

Took a yoga class tonight

Ten years ago, I did a feature story about a new yoga class at Randolph Air Force Base in San Antonio. I was intrigued and wanted very much to try it.

Tonight, in Clio, Mich., at the public library, I got the chance.

I arrived a tad late due to having to get photos of a basketball game 10 miles away in Birch Run. It was a small class, about seven other people, all women.

Monkey and corpse are the only two names of poses I can remember. Others required lots of balance. Others demonstrated I have the flexibility of a granite statue, which is to say none. It was amazing how many could reach their feet and put their palms on the floor. For me, it was a reminder that I need to lose 100 pounds.

One thing I learned is that yoga classes end with the instructor saying “Namaste”.  She encouraged us to come to the next three classes, which I fully intend to do.

The only thing I didn’t like about the class was the teacher had the lights off (we had illumination from the sunset and from the opened doors that let in the hall lights). It made it a challenge at times to see the poses the teacher was doing.

Do I plan to go again? Yes, although I’ll probably be sore very soon.

Richard Zowie learned today just how out of shape he is. Post comments here or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

