Home > Uncategorized > Battle of the Bulge 10-18-2011

Battle of the Bulge 10-18-2011

I took a slight step back this week, remembering that if you want to lose weight, moderate eating and lots of water aren’t enough; you must also exercise. Needless to say, once done here I will walk about 2.7 miles to the library and back to drop off a movie and check to see if a book I have on order is ready.

Last week, I cooked for myself since my sons weren’t at home. Unstuffed peppers. This consists of–duh!–peppers (the recipe called for green bell peppers, and while I don’t dislike the green ones, I prefer the sweeter and less bitter orange and yellow), wild rice, mushrooms, Polish sausage and a red onion. I also threw in a hodgepodge of seasonings.

I prefer to cook from scratch whenever possible but ended up tossing in the flavor packet from the discounted Rice-A-Roni wild rice. And, the mushrooms were packaged already sliced.

I will definitely have to make it a habit of cooking with wild rice. Even in leftover mode, it has an excellent texture and doesn’t clump together. I can’t say the same about brown rice. Maybe I’m just not enough of a rice-ologist yet.

Yep, Richard LOVES rice!

So, as I cooked, I seasoned and followed the directions, I cooked the rice first, then uncased and cooked the sausage, put that in with the rice when done and then sauteed the mushrooms, peppers and onions together. I also learned from this dish that when mushrooms are sauteed and seasoned the right way, they’re delicious.

Sauteeing the veggies–wait, are mushrooms technically considered vegetables?

And, of course, slicing the onions was a very emotional experience. Perhaps Whitney Houston and her longtime producer Clive Davis will give me their blessing to parody her song “So Emotional” and sing these lyrics: “I get so emotional baby, everytiiiiiiiiiiime I slice onions for you”.

As usual, I was my worst critic, but overall, I thought it turned out pretty well. I’ll definitely have to make it again sometime, although I wasn’t really impressed with the Polish sausage and might either try chorizo or something else.

The end product

Finding the right flavor is not like trying to find a needle in a haystack, but rather a needle in a needle stack. There are countless flavors…but you’re looking for the perfect one that makes you say Zowie!

And, today, I tried my hand at making an omelet. I fried bacon, sauteed yellow bell peppers and first melted margarine in the pan to help the egg not stick to it. It worked well except I was hungry and decided to put in three eggs.

A nice, big omelet, yes, but it was too big to turn over (I have only one spatula and I don’t have the dexterity to flip it the way Meryl Streep’s Julia Child character did it in Julie & Julia), so I, um, sort of tried to use the spatula and sort of failed. Some of the egg turned over while the rest tore away. I ended up chopping up the omelet and mixing it with the peppers, bacon and cheese.

The good news is, the eggs didn’t stick to the pan!

So now, I continue eating in moderation, drinking lots of water and cooking dishes with appeal.

Post comments or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

