Home > Uncategorized > My quest to lose 100 pounds starts now

My quest to lose 100 pounds starts now

I’m 38 years old and am about 5’7.5″ tall (I prefer to round it up to 5’8″). Due to some changes late last year in my personal life, I went on a stress binge and dropped about 30 pounds from 265 down to 235. At one time, I was at 229 and could feel my jeans getting very loose and my t-shirts fitting without slipping out of my jeans.

And then complacency sat in.

I didn’t walk as much and I didn’t practice moderation. Too often I treated myself to Chinese food buffets (a gargantuan vice for me).

About a week ago, I weighed myself and saw I was at 265 again.

Absolutely unacceptable.

A few days ago, I weighed myself at 262 and have decided to use that as a reference point. My goal is to lose 100 pounds and go from 262 all the way down to my ideal weight of 162 pounds. This was the weight I was in the service, although at one time I exercised so much I was down to 158 pounds.

So now, I begin again.

My approach is simple: exercise regularly and fervently, drink lots of water, exercise moderation and avoid snacking on things that are very surgary or fat. My Mom tells me to eliminate sodas, and perhaps someday I will. Practice weekly weigh-ins instead of daily, as per a suggestion from my wiser-than-her-years friend Stephania.

And blog as a way to hold myself accountable.

Today was mixed. I got up at 4:45 a.m. and on my way to work bought a Double Gulp and two double chocolate chip cookies from 7-11. I drank two 20-ounce bottles of Diet Coke and almost a liter of water but didn’t exercise due to feeling worn down and tired. I do plan to get some exercise tomorrow after work. I ate some leftover rotini with spaghetti sauce and kept it at one portion. When I got home I had tortilla chips, cheese and salsa. It is now 8:33 p.m. as I write this, and I am going to see if I can either eat nothing else tonight or have perhaps a single egg sandwich.

Richard Zowie is a Christian, father and writer who is sick of being overweight. Post comments here or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

  1. Lori Short
    September 21, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    I am hosting a beachbody party tomorrow at my home 14391 tuscola rd clio try to make it or ck out my website beachbodycoach.com/racewalker for more info this is perfect for you theyhave vits, dvd programs, shakes, protein bars, etc let me kno Lori

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

