Home > Uncategorized > A visit with the ‘Blue Ghost’–the U.S.S. Lexington

A visit with the ‘Blue Ghost’–the U.S.S. Lexington

The “Blue Ghost”, the U.S.S. Lexington

Anybody who says they do not believe in ghosts obviously has never been to Corpus Christi Bay.

Once you go there, right next to the Texas State Aquarium is a large, long ghost.

A “Blue Ghost”, to be exact.

My family and I–including my brother-in-law, Joe, a Navy veteran–drove to Corpus Christi to visit the U.S.S. Lexington.

I’ve been there before, but this was the first time I went with my two youngest sons (my oldest son went with me and his cousins back around the turn of the millennium).

It was a warm summer day in Texas, a bright day. When I wasn’t using my camera phone to take pictures, I was wearing my sunglasses.

We looked at aircraft, watched a few videos, looked at a few cockpits and also went out onto the tarmac. I was nervous at first since going onto the flight deck meant climbing three flights of steep stairs. Climbing ahead of me was my Dad, who is almost 75 and has had two knee replacements. Thankfully, he made it up ok.

Grandpa Zowie with Charles and Robert.

Charles, my now-13-year-old, is a fledgling military historian and looked at the aircraft with intense interest and read their descriptions.

“DAD! I just knocked a kamikaze out of the sky! This relic was really loaded!”

The “Blue Ghost” got its nickname from two sources: one, it was painted with a blue-gray paint and the Japanese thought they’d sunk it a few times–only to see it again in the ocean.

Robert in one of my favorite vacation pics, taking a look at Corpus Christi Bay. In the distance, beyond the land in the horizon, is the Gulf of Mexico.

And, before we left, I used an empty Gatorade bottle to scoop up a sample of sand from Corpus Christi’s beach. It will be displayed at my house along with three other rocks (one from my parents’ house in Beeville; more on the other two rocks in future postings). Someday when I return to Texas permanently, the sand will be dispersed back onto the beach.

Post comments here or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

  1. July 15, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Nice story. I served aboard two destroyers, both now scrap. It’s nice to see that a few of the ships have been saved as museums. One of the Fletcher class destroyers like the one I served on is a museum ship in Buffalo, NY. It’s worth a visit if you ever get there. Jim Smith

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

