Home > Uncategorized > My Vacation: Visiting with my family

My Vacation: Visiting with my family

Six and a half years.

That was the last time I saw my parents, my sisters, my nephews and nieces.

Gosh, that was far too long.

That first day on July 1, in the evening my parents, sons and I went to my sister Sabrina’s house to visit.Sabrina gave me some sweet, store-bought tea from a plastic container. It was surprisingly good (to me, 99.99999% of “fresh-brewed bottled tea” is glorified instant).

 

It’s not Bill Miller’s, but it’s good!

I hugged, and we all laughed. I forget what, but at one point something was given to me and my sister Misti began laughing. Well, then I began laughing and was unable to continue what I was saying. It was the kind of laugh where you take deep pauses and then gasp for air due to laughing so hard.

Me and my sisses (left to right): Sabrina (the oldest), Rich (the youngest and the brat), Misti (the middle) 

It had been months since I’d laughed that hard, the closest being while watching The Big Bang Theory and The Office.

That visit was a reminder to me about the tight sibling bond I have: I love my sisters very much and consider them close friends. I just hope the day comes when we can see each other on a regular basis.

As far as my parents go, it was a special visit since my Dad is a cancer survivor. I used to wonder if I’d ever see him again and would worry he’d receive bad news from a screening. Both he and my Mom are in their 70s. Mom, well, with her hair grown out and, um, possibly colored, you’d think she was in her mid 60s, tops.

Nana and Grandpa Zowie with me and two of the three Zowie grandsons, Charles (older) and Robert (younger) Zowie. 

Next blog posting: our visit to see a ghost in Corpus Christi, Texas.

Post comments here or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

  1. June 6, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I was wondering if you ever thought of adjusting the layout of your blog? Its well written; I enjoy what you have got to say. But maybe you could include a a bit more in the way of written content so people might connect to it better. You have got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

