Home > Uncategorized > My vacation: traveling to Austin, Beeville

My vacation: traveling to Austin, Beeville

It had been about 13 years since I’d last flown in an airplane, and much had changed for my vacation. What hadn’t changed was my fear of missing my flight, so I ended up getting only one hour of sleep the night before. Then drove down to Lapeer where my two youngest sons and I got a ride to the Flint Bishop airport.

Airport security was surprisingly easy to get through. No pat downs, no interrogations. Robert’s medication made it through with few problems.

Charles, my now-13-year-old, was afraid at first of flying, but after we changed planes in Atlanta, he wanted the window seat. His 11-year-old younger brother, Robert, obliged.

Changing planes in Atlanta was surprisingly easy: our next flight was only about two gates down. Piece of cake once I overcame my OCD tendencies and assured myself that the flight we needed was really at a nearby gate. No having to change concourses as I’ve had to do in the past.

Us right before taking off to Austin.

And we had a surprisingly short flight to Austin. At one time we thought we were flying over the Mississippi River but actually were approaching Austin. Must’ve been the time zone change.

And once we landed, this sign was beautiful:

Once my parents and my sister Misti picked us up, we drove to Lockhart, Texas and had lunch at a Chinese restaurant. One friend, Lance Tindol, teased me about having Chinese food in the Barbecue capitol of the world.

We then stopped in Leesville to pick up my nephews, and I got to say hello to this adorable, nameless Basset Hound that I dubbed “Flash”…

 

And then we were off to Beeville, and being home for the first time in almost seven years…

Post comments here or e-mail them to fromatozowie@gmail.com.

  1. Stephanie
    July 11, 2011 at 12:25 am

    Looking forward to reading more.

  2. July 13, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    Thankyavermuch, Steph. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

