Home > Uncategorized > Attention, Genesee County Herald readers…

Attention, Genesee County Herald readers…

From now on, after receiving permission from my publisher, I will be posting my From A to Zowie columns from the Mt. Morris/Clio Herald and the Birch Run/Bridgeport Herald here on my blog. While I finish the columns by Monday morning, they will most likely be posted on Wednesdays once the paper’s published.

What’s in store for the March 10 issue? I haven’t decided yet, but it may pertain to a certain type of business I’d love to see in Mt. Morris, Genesee, Clio, Birch Run or Bridgeport. I’ll decide by Sunday.

Sorry, but I have no plans to write about the Academy Awards. I consider the Oscars to be a popularity contest. Too often, so-so movies and actors magically receive nominations because they’re in a movie with some politically-correct message. (I’m sure it’s a nice adversity-overcoming story to an extent, but I have absolutely zero desire to see the Oprah-produced Precious). Besides, it’s funny how many Academy Award-nominated or -winning movies somehow find themselves in Walmart’s $5 bin.

Richard Zowie is a Texas expatriate now living in Michigan. While he enjoys Michigan, he still affectionately refers to Beeville, Texas as his “hometown” and misses listening to Tejano music on the radio. Post comments here or e-mail richardzowie@gmail.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

