Home > Uncategorized > From my mailbag…

From my mailbag…

Here’s a sampling of e-mail feedback I’ve received from my blogs. Some of it gets posted on my blogs while the ones with profanity or tasteless content don’t.

Regarding my Writer’s Blog posting of my entry into Writer’s Digest‘s My Story Contest about something strange happening on a first date, this gent wrote:

You could have a winner here. I’d need to see the competition. Similar stories with more emotional endings could beat this out. A nice slice of life with a Christian theme. Nice work while burning the midnight oil. Visit biccomix.com and read BEN, A STORY ABOUT COLLECTING for a comparison story. Write me. I still want a face to face with you. Thanks   RJ 

Indeed, I shall, RJ.

Back in July, I posted about the simplicity of Hebrew (a language I don’t speak but would love to learn). A reader named Mike wrote this:

While I’ve always been drawn to Hebrew’s melodic expressions…I only know a few words and phrases in the language… but then I suppose that sense of yerning it invokes is true for all Jews. Presently I’m making an effort to learn the language of Our Ancestors and find reading opinions such as those posted here an encouragement… Thanks!  ~ Mike

Mazel tov, Mike!

And, yes, I get my fair share of hate e-mail, mostly from my Ponderings From Pluto blog from readers who neither realize the site’s satirical nor understand what satire’s supposed to be. More recently, I posted a satire piece of Van Halen firing on-again, off-again lead singer David Lee Roth and hiring Wolfgang Van Halen to be lead singer besides the bass player.

Someone named Kelly, whom I presume is a huge Van Halen fan, took exception to this. Of their printable comments they called me an idiot, said they bet my IQ level was below 50 and stated the post was a result of incest.

Absolutely not true, Kelly. My parents aren’t related. If only you’d written the post instead.

Against my better judgment, I sent Kelly a private response explaining why their post wasn’t getting published, and I received a testy response back from them. The gist of it is they’re an adolescent. C’est la vie.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

