Home > Uncategorized > I’ll have to watch ‘Inglourious Basterds’

I’ll have to watch ‘Inglourious Basterds’

inglourious_basterds_xlg

Normally, Quentin Tarantino is a director that I’m on the fence about. I’ve seen three of his movies: Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown and Kill Bill Volume I and II. I love his story lines, his cinematography, his homages to past movies and how he casts actors who haven’t had a lot of big roles lately (such as Robert Forster in Jackie Brown).

On the down side, his movies have lots of violence and profanity in them. Too much, in some places. I also found myself disgusted by the liberal use of the n-word in Jackie Brown and the way blood sprays from severed heads and limbs like a ruptured fire hydrant in Kill Bill Vol. I. And, of course, I didn’t really like the non-linear style of Pulp Fiction (the movie begins in a diner and ends back in the diner, the same scene but from a different viewpoint).

And now, Tarantino has just released his film Inglourious Basterds.

My understanding is this film involves a squad of American Jewish soldiers in World War II who capture and torture Nazis and try to extract information from them.

Many critics are very harsh of this film, and for that very reason I’ll probably watch it.

Honestly, I see film critics as failed actors/screenplay writers (such as Roger Ebert)/directors/producers. For the most part, their reviews are entertainment only. I’ve seen terrible movies that received great reviews and great movies that received bad reviews.

So, because many critics are saying this movie’s garbage, I’ll have to watch it now.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

