Home > Uncategorized > Review of Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

Review of Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

indiana-jones-and-the-kingdom-of-the-crystal-skull-20080311060812088_640w

Sorry if this seems late, but I don’t have the budget to watch movies in the theaters. When I had Netflix, I had a backlog of old movies and TV shows to watch and didn’t really have much time to watch the new releases.

That being said, I finally got to watch Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull this past weekend.

What I liked: The action sequences weren’t bad. Harrison Ford still has the physical agility to play Indiana Jones. Karen Allen was pretty nice in her return to the series. I laughed a lot when Jones, realizing the young punk is his son, abruptly changes his tune and tells the kid (whom he had said to do what he enjoyed in life) that he would finish school. Cate Blanchett, who’s Australian, did a marvelous job with the Russian accent (she’s one of those rare actors, like Gary Oldman, who can do practically any accent flawlessly). The story was fairly interesting, involving a language that hadn’t been spoken in millennia. And, of course, when Dr. Jones is given his last words to say before the Russians’ aborted execution of him, he replies: “I like Ike.” I also liked the Ark of the Covenant’s* cameo appearance.

What I didn’t like: While the science-fiction lover in me didn’t exactly mind the whole idea of alien beings, the movie just seemed flat at its climax. The first three were an adrenaline rush with the showdown as the Ark was opened, the final bridge sequence and the choosing of the right cup. Yes, it was nice seeing Indy and Marion finally get married, but overall I kept wondering why there was a need for a new installment. And, I felt the title was too wordy. Why not Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull instead?

Overall, an interesting film, but I still liked the earlier ones better.

* Personally, I believe the Ark is in heaven, according to what Revelation 11:19 says.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

