Home > Uncategorized > Some think Sacha Baron Cohen’s gay character could hinder gay rights

Some think Sacha Baron Cohen’s gay character could hinder gay rights

No, I have no plans to see Bruno. I never saw Borat, mostly because the jokes in the previews sucked and I saw nothing funny about him giving a man cheese made from breast milk. If you like Sacha Baron Cohen, that’s great. But for me, he does nothing for me except make me wonder why people would want to waste their money on such a stupid attempt at comedy.

And now, according to Reuters, apparently gay activists are worried that Baron Cohen’s flamboyant gay Austrian fashion reporter character could set back gay rights by depicting gays in stereotypical ways. (Frankly, I also worry that Baron Cohen will continue to lower the bar for humor and make it more difficult than ever to find really funny movies to watch).

  1. June 17, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I think that the way Sacha Baron Cohen depicts the individuals in his films is a kind of paradox. Like he’s making fun of the stereotypes, but he’s also showing us how crazy and unrealistic these stereotypes really are. I find humor in how he brings up and ultimately proves the stereotypes to be over-the-top, and ridiculous. I mean, really, they ARE REALLY ridiculous.

    I am a little bit worried about his character’s affect on my gay rights, but I’m not sure how it can really get in the way. Although he’s parodying a stereotype, and incessantly pumping it into our brains, we need to realize that it’s free speech, and also a great opportunity to show LGBT maturity compared to those with LGBT rights in their dry, cracking, self-righteous palms.

    Also I believe humor, as well as art in general, is subjective. Some people just absolutely don’t find comedians, like Dane Cook, funny, while others say they almost wet their pants watching him do a show. Ya know?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

