Home > Uncategorized > Assessment tests

Assessment tests

I’ve applied for various sales jobs, including advertising and store sales. With both jobs (but especially the advertising sales) they often like to give tests to assess how you’ll be as an employee.

Some questions are straight forward, such as “I have never lied in my life” to ones where you have to answer a) I strongly agree, b) I agree, c) I have no opinion, d) I disagree and e) I strongly disagree for statements like “The customer is always right” .

I suppose there’s a method to the madness, but I always find it ironic that these companies have high turnover rates. How could they? If a person scores well on an exam, isn’t that a sign they’ll be a great employee?

I can’t tell you how many times at one newspaper I worked at we’d have new salespeople every month with the standard explanation: The people we hired didn’t work out: they decided the job wasn’t for them.

When I apply for a job, I often find myself wanting to talk to the manager to answer questions directly and give them a resume.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

