Home > Uncategorized > Bob Avellini, ex-Chicago Bears QB, acquitted of drunk driving charges

Bob Avellini, ex-Chicago Bears QB, acquitted of drunk driving charges

I found this short article while perusing the San Antonio Express-News website.

This is the third time since 2005 that Bob Avellini, who was a quarterback for the Chicago Bears from the late 1970s to early 1980s, has been arrested for DUI. He has been convicted only once.

The article states that the judge found him not guilty due to a lack of evidence while Avellini’s lawyer says his client wasn’t impaired. Interestingly, Avellini refused to take a breathalyzer, blood test or field-sobriety tests.

If you’re not impaired, what’s there to hide?

A few years ago, I drove home around 1 a.m. after having to take care of something at work. I was tired, so as I drove past a curve I swerved into the left lane. There was no oncoming traffic, but a police officer pulled me over. He asked if I’d been drinking, and following my “No” response and explanation and no smell of alcohol, he ran my license and let me go. If he had asked me to blow into a breathalyzer or to take a field-sobriety test or a blood test, I would have. Inconvenient? Yes, but if you have nothing to hide, what’s the problem.

Avellini previously had DUI charges dismissed because the arresting officer had moved to Florida and was unable to fly back to the Chicago area to testify.

Mr. Avellini, please grow a conscience and get help before you get arrested again–this time for intoxication manslaughter.

  1. Dave
    May 9, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Sir,
    I understand this is a blog and not a true source for news but, if you are going to write as fact, please get your facts straight. The following are corrected inaccuracies in your article:
    1) Mr. Avellini has been arrested 4 times, with three cases resulting in acquittal. His first DUI he plead guilty and received court supervision, which is not a conviction.
    2) It is true that his 2007 DUI was dismissed due to the officer moving to Florida. What you probably didn’t know is that the DUI he was just found not guilty of is that same DUI. The prosecution refiled the case and flew the officer back to court to testify. Alas, he was still found not guilty due to a lack of evidence.

    In this country you still have a right to privacy. If a person doesn’t want to submit to tests it his right to do so. Especially for someone who an officer would have a preconceived notion of guilt or innocence.

    I don’t think you are naive enough to believe that all officers, tests and machines are credible and accurate.

  2. May 9, 2009 at 11:40 am

    Thank you for your response. However, let me correct you on this: this is a blog, not an “article”. You’re right: a plea of guilty is not a conviction. As for the rest of the column, I based my information on published reports and linked to them. If you contest the accuracy, kindly e-mail them also.

    FOUR arrests instead of three?

    No, I’m not naive enough to believe all machines are accurate all the time, and I also don’t think you’re naive enough to believe there’s no fire where there’s lots of smoke. I also don’t think you are naive enough to believe that all DUI suspects are indeed just victims of bad testing, bad machines or unreliable officers, or that all attorneys who defend DUI clients are ethical people with consciences.

    A police officer’s job is to pull over someone he or she thinks is driving suspiciously and might pose a serious threat to others. A person who shows telltale signs of DUI but doesn’t want a test tells me they have something to hide. His privacy ends when he poses a potential threat to others. With all due respect, Mr. Avellini’s refusal to do the tests and his attorney’s pointing their absence as a lack of evidence sounds like a textbook scam to me.

    People die all the time in this country from being hit by drunk drivers, many of which had prior arrests, convictions and acquittals. It sounds to me like Mr. Avellini has a problem: four arrests for this sounds far too coincidental. I just hope he gets it resolved before–heaven forbid–someone dies or gets seriously injured.

    Check out this site: http://www.helpjacqui.com.

  1. June 16, 2009 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

