Home > Uncategorized > A recent job interview

A recent job interview

I interviewed for a sales job at an upscale clothing store. The clothes reminded me a lot of what the “rich” kids in high school would wear. To be honest, I felt a little like a fish out of water since I was the only applicant this time who wore a tie and wasn’t wearing stylish clothes. One applicant wore knee-length shorts with cargo pockets. Another–I kid you not–wore torn jeans with mesh in the tears, suggesting that’s how the jeans looked when bought. I marveled at how times have changed: 20 years ago when I was in high school, other students would’ve thought he was poor.

I’m not too optimistic about getting hired, probably because I was the only applicant there who was out of high school. Compared to those young men, I must’ve looked frumpy, as if I were a U.K. American Idol candidate.

Please understand this is solely an observation. The interview itself went well and I found the company has an interesting hiring process. They pose scenarios to you in the interview instead of giving you a boring test asking you how you’d respond to various questions.

We’ll see what happens.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

