Home > Uncategorized > Remembering Paul Harvey

Remembering Paul Harvey

I’m very sorry to hear about the passing of radio legend Paul Harvey. As I reflect on the countless times I’ve heard him, I often wonder what was funnier-his “For What It’s Worth” stories or the anxiety attacks I had as a lad when I’d hear what sounded like dead air. We know, of course, Mr. Harvey’s trademark pauses were for dramatic effect.When I think of Harvey and all the countless stories of his class and dignity, I am reminded of a friend who’s a sports broadcaster. On and off the air, Ron is an incredibly classy guy who exemplifies what Christianity is all about. What this world needs are more Pauls and Rons.

A paraphrase of my favorite Harvey story:

“For what it’s worth, a man walked into a convenience store, placed a $20 bill on the counter and asked for change. When the cashier turned and opened the register, the man pulled a gun and demanded the money from the till. The cashier gave him the bills, which totaled $15. The robber then left the store, leaving his $20 bill on the counter-[laughing] Paul Harvey, G’Day!”

Mr. Harvey, you’ll be sorely missed, and I look forward to meeting you someday in heaven.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

