Home > Uncategorized > Small world indeed–my connection to a South Texas county judge

Small world indeed–my connection to a South Texas county judge

So, back around 1985 I attended New Life Baptist Church in Beeville, Texas. I’d been saved for a few years but was off and on in my walk with God. A kind gentleman named David Silva used to encourage me to attend church there.

Fast forward 12 years to 1997, around New Year’s Day. My then-fiancee (now wife), Jennifer were with her mother, Brenda, visiting Brenda’s aunt (and my wife’s great-aunt) Alma. On the wall was a photo of David with his younger brother, John.

“Do you know them?” I asked her.

Aunt Alma smiled and replied: “David and John are my sons.”

I did some thinking: David Silva is the nephew of Jennifer’s Grandpa Trevino and the cousin of Brenda, Jenn’s mom. That means that this man whom I knew back in those days was–for lack of a better term–my future second cousin-in-law.

And now, he’s a county judge! What a small world.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

