Home > Uncategorized > Latest on how Alvin, Texas is handling the aftermath of Hurricane Ike

Latest on how Alvin, Texas is handling the aftermath of Hurricane Ike

I spent about an hour tonight talking on the phone to a former elementary school teacher of mine. She said that there was some damage in town, but aside from that, things are doing better. They have electricity now, but there’s still an issue with water and sewage. They’ve been holding off on school until the schools have water and plumbing back again.

Galveston was hit very hard and much was destroyed. Still, according to her, many who are born and raised there plan to return and rebuild.

If you’re reading this and want to find out about any relatives in the Alvin area, drop me a line and I’ll forward it to my sister, who has a close friend in Alvin. I’d received a post from someone with an Australian e-mail address who had relatives in Alvin.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. Jean Gralley
    September 20, 2008 at 2:30 am

    Just wondering if you can ask about the whereabouts of Alvon resident and writer Bill Crider… We haven’t heard from him since right before the hurricane hit. Thanks very much. Jean

  2. Christina
    September 21, 2008 at 12:28 am

    I am trying to figure out if my friends and I are getting scammed by someone on-line. She has told us she lives in Alvin and has lost her baby son and ex-husband in the hurricane. For what it’s worth I hope she is making it up because I could not fathom how I would be able to go on if I lost one of my children. Have you heard of any father/son deaths in the area? I can go into more specifics off of this site.

    Thank you.

  3. Liz
    September 22, 2008 at 4:05 am

    I also grew up in Alvin and I have talked and emailed to a ton of my friends that still live in Alvin and I haven’t heard anybody mention that. Alvin’s small and everyone knows everyone so that would deff be a topic if that really happened.

    BTW,if anyone finds pics online of Alvin post IKE please post the link here so we can see our town.. Thanks

  4. Marla
    September 23, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I live in Alvin now, they are cleaning the streets but the power is still out in most of the city, the reports that are coming out about most of he power being on is not true. Granted be are Texans and we will rebuild and survive. We will learn from our mistakes and repair for the next one, because we choose to live on the coast and hurricanes are part of the package. Ike may have given us a black eye, but black eyes heal.

  5. September 24, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Looking for my friend who lives in Alvin, texas. Her name is Peggy Krampota. Has lived there for years. I haven’t been able to reach her by phone or e-mail. Can you help. I’m sure she is fine, but just want to make sure. Thanks, Shirley Walker

  6. Terry Nyhous
    September 28, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    My sister and I live in Virginia and are trying to reach our aunt Mildred and her daughter Rebel, who live on East Southland. We’d really appreciate it if someone can confirm that they are okay and tell them to call Bev or Terry when they can.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

