Home > Uncategorized > Hurricane Ike and my former hometown, Alvin, Texas

Hurricane Ike and my former hometown, Alvin, Texas

I received an e-mail from my oldest sister today. Sabrina forwarded a message from her high school friend who still lives in Alvin, Texas, where the Zowie family lived from 1981-1983. Fond memories. Janet posted photos of the damage done by Hurricane Ike. Not as bad as what I had imagined, since Alvin’s not very far from the Gulf Coast (20 miles or so southeast of Houston and about 20 miles from the water). Am very glad, since an elementary school teacher of mine lives there. I won’t name her, for privacy purposes, but once I hear from her I’ll post on it. Again, without naming her. It’s more to let people know how people in Texas’ Houston region are doing.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. Selena
    September 16, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    We live in Alvin and we still don’t have elctricity. We are staying in Oklahoma for the next couple of days. I heard that a tornadoe made it’s way through and the Sonic is destroyed.

  2. Glenn
    September 17, 2008 at 3:34 am

    This is the first and only thing I have seen about Alvin. Sure would like to find out more and soem photos . I have family in Alvin and thaven’t heard anything from them or about them from other famliy members.

  3. September 17, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Found this post when I googled “Hurricane Ike, Alvin”

    Anyway, I’m from Alvin area too… and am about to head that way to see how it looks (we just moved back to Texas… and are living in the Katy area… after living in Louisiana for a bit). Should be interesting! Too bad I didn’t bring a camera!

  4. Doug Warner
    September 18, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Is now Thursday, Sept 15, 2008, 1:15 pm Indiana.
    I have Friends in Alvin, cannot contact.
    Does Alvin have electricity yet? telephone? Water?

  5. Beverly
    September 19, 2008 at 3:41 am

    I live in Alvin and we got our power back last night after 4 days of living in the dark.We had no phone service & very little water preasure. Only 55% of Alvin residents now have power, water, & phone service. I know other towns took a lot harder hit then Alvin, but I was very surprised when I saw for myself just how much damage Alvin took. It looks like electric poles snapped like toothpicks, whole trees on the ground & through house tops. There is debris everywhere you look, and today when I was driving home on 149 I saw 2 mobile homes that had their roof tops almost completely gone. I was told there was a mobile home that landed in the middle of Mustang Rd. What we are going through is bad, but I know their are so many more much worse off. Alvin is a strong community and we will pull together and get our town cleaned back up.

  6. Celeste
    September 19, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Hillcrest Village, outside Alvin, lost lots of trees. Fences are down. Part got electricity and phone last night I hear, 9/17. HV sewer is full, but don’t know about Alvin.

  7. September 22, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    i have lived in alvin for 12 yrs. I currently live in fort smith arkansas, i still have friends there, I was a past employee at the alvin sun. I stayed put at the last huricane and was the only soul in the neighborhood. take care alvin texas

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

